The Faculty of Health Sciences was established with the decision of the Council of Ministers published in the Legal Gazette dated 14.07.2008 and numbered 13928.

The Faculty of Health Sciences consists of six departments: Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, Department of Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation, Department of Nursing, Department of Social Work, Department of Audiology and Department of Speech and Language Therapy.

The Department of Nursing , which served as a School of Nursing between 1999-2008, started to serve as a department of Gazi University Faculty of Health Sciences as of 14.07.2008. The Department of Audiology was established in 2013, and The Department of Speech and Language Therapy was established in 2016.

The Department of Social Work was established in 2017 and continues its academic activities by admitting students in the 2018-2019 academic year.

Our faculty is an educational institution that trains professionals and trainers who can make interdisciplinary cooperation and teamwork in the field of health, use science and technology to increase the health and quality of life of the society, research, respect ethical and human values, and have the necessary knowledge and skills in the profession. It is on the way to become a leading faculty that carries out original studies in its field, is recognized in national and international societies, is consulted in the creation of plans and policies regarding public health, is respected, and has the privilege of being a member of Gazi.

As of 25.08.2020, Prof. Bülent ELBASAN continues his duty as the dean.


1. Prof. Gülsan TÜRKÖZ SUCAK (founding dean), 14.07.2008 - 27.02.2012

2. Prof. Nevin ŞANLIER, 27.02.2012- 13.02.2015 By proxy; 13.02.2015 - 20.07.2016

3. Prof. İlhan ÜZÜLMEZ, 20.07.2016 - 31.10.2016 (by proxy)

4. Prof. Alper CEYLAN, 31.10.2016 - 03.03.2017 (by proxy)

5. Prof.  Mustafa Necmi İLHAN, 03.03.2017-28.05.2020

6. Prof. Mustafa KAVUTÇU, 29.05.2020-24.08.2020